Thread: Opening the XBOX book impressions.

1. Opening the XBOX book impressions.

I am loving the book, even though I sometimes question the author or the validity of certain facts.

It doesn't read as a normal business profile, it reads more like you are a fly on the wall when things really went down. You get to be there and see what really happens behind closed doors. Certain parts have given me goosebumps because I start daydreaming about how exciting it would have been to be in the situations people like Seamus Blackley were in. Seamus is the books hero (I told you it wasn't like a normal business profile) and you get to like him through the course of what I have read so far.

I'll unload more when I get farther into the book.

PS: Use spoiler warnings whenever applicable.

2. Yeah, I am reading the book too. Can't say that I'm enjoying it as much as you are. Being an engineer myself, I understand all of the struggles that eccentric innovators like St. John the creator of DirectX had with the business types. I like the tactics used by MS teams in stonewalling other teams' projects in favor of their own. However, I find it difficult to focus only on the business aspect of video games. I would have liked more interaction with engineers, and their personal struggles with trying to beat their competitor's hardware instead of letting me know that a hard drive feature was scrutinized because it cost $55.