Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Microsoft's first/second party line up

1. Yield Microsoft's first/second party line up

I started playing through Halo again recently and my copy still has a booklet of all the 'coming soon' first party games from MS. Remembering my excitement and naive optimism of the time I first flipped through that booklet, I'd thought it might be interesting to discuss how these games turned out.

The good and the bad:

Halo - My opinion of the game has greatly improved since last I played it, though in any case it was a solid hit for MS and justified the cost of Bungie. Xbox would have probably been a Jaguar without it.
    Blinx - A lesson in how not to make a decent platformer. I can't believe it was ever play tested because it seems to go out of its way to do everything wrong. Despite all the lies MS told about the game (revolutionary use of hard drive! 4D!) it sold terribly, which was better than it deserved.
    Amped - A rough start in the extreme sports genre, but a good one I thought. Not something worth full price, but with enough tweaks it could have been. I've only briefly played Amped 2, though my opinion the series is still a little too rough around the edges.
    Tao Feng - Worst 3D fighter ever. When even the names of characters are horrible, you know you're in trouble. Getting beat up in real life is more fun than this game.
    Kato Cojin - A game that's not even worth looking up the proper spelling of. If stiff-moving rave rejects beating the crap out of each other is your thing, Mortal Kombat: DA does it better.

Those still not known:

Unseen - lives up to the name by being cancelled.
    Tork - dropped by MS, though because of Ubisoft we'll be able to find out if MS was right in dropping it or not.
    Psychonaughts - a recent one to get the boot, supposedly because it sucks, though after approving Blinx I'm a little dubious of MS's sense of taste.