Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I want a laptop, suggest something :)

1. PC I want a laptop, suggest something :)

Well as the title states, i really want a laptop.. and i figure the best place to start is to pick out which one i want to buy!

So far, i'm leaning towards an ibook.. (A mac, if you didnt know)
    I dont know what my feelings are towards any other brands yet.. all i know is macs seem to look the best and are the lightest, and seem to be the most stable.. (i have heard countless stories about Dell and IBM being the shityest computers you can buy.. and i dont want that.. i want stable, fast computing)

i know ibooks, and powerbooks, are mostly for music makers, and filmests
    i am neither, yet.. or maybe a tad of each.. But i am an engineer.. and i do use plenty of large programs, which always seem to run very slow, on my desktop right now.. which is a athlon 2100+ 1.74Ghz .. 256 cache.. 256 DDR 400 gigabyte mobo about three years possable 4 yrs old..

soo i dont know.. i have only heard macs are super stable, and like a 1ghz mac can out preform like, a 1.25ghz dell.. hahaha well maybe, but i have heard that they are better or something..

SO straighten me out !! and tell me the truth.. Should i go Mac, or should i go back.. to windows based systems.. ?? and if windows what should i be looking for to handle my big programs i use at school?
    You can never be one of the dead, because something that has no existence can have no community.

Frontiers

2. Okay, the whole Macs are for musicians/artists/film makers thing is nonsense. I don't do any of that shit and love my Mac.

If you're an engineer, check that any software related to your field is available on for OSX. Most industrial things seem not to be.

Macs are nice; I love them, but they absolutely suck sometimes. The lack of software available can be a real hassle. Make absolutely sure that you're fine with hardly any games or the vast majority of programs being unavailable.