Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Modem for Xbox live

1. Modem for Xbox live

If anyone can tell a better plan, I'd really appreciate it. I have a cable modem for my computer, but my xbox is very far away. The easiest thing to do would probably get another modem to just put in the room. Can anyone suggest some good cheap modems? Looking at BesbtBuy.com, they show some for $74.99 and $79.99. Are there any that are a bit cheaper?

2. I'm not an expert on this sort of thing, but I believe most Cable services only allow you to use one Modem per account.

3. Why not get one of those wireless gaming adapters?

4. Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	router.jpg 
Views:	349 
Size:	64.9 KB 
ID:	15353  

"I can only say that there is not a man living who wishes more sincerely than I do to see a plan adopted for the abolition of slavery." - Tommy Tallarico

5. Well I'm trying to do this as cheeply as possible. Thats why I asked for suggestions. How much would it cost for a decent wireless router and is it something I can set up myself?

EDIT: If I were get another modem, would it work if I only had one hooked up at a time?
    Last edited by ElCapichan; 08 May 2005 at 04:35 PM.

6. Quote Originally Posted by ElCapitan
    Well I'm trying to do this as cheeply as possible. Thats why I asked for suggestions. How much would it cost for a decent wireless router and is it something I can set up myself?

EDIT: If I were get another modem, would it work if I only had one hooked up at a time?
    Wireless router is about...70 bucks. Then you'd need the wireless reciever for the xbox which is like 50 I think. It's easy to set up.

and I think the 2nd modem thing would work. Not sure if there would be an IP address issue or anything. Someone else field this one.

7. You can get a wireless router for less then $50 nowadays..after rebates and stuff. Do some searching in those Sunday advertisements.

Or just get one of these..