Page 1 of 6 1235 ... LastLast

Thread: Spammers 2

1. Spammers 2

Since the thread is now closed, and Josh banned, I will do my part to help keep his fight against spammers going.

My offer still stands Nick. I'm not saying that you're an idiot or anything, but maybe I can notice an option that you didn't. There has to be a way to only allow people to reply up until they hit X number of posts, and then automatically bump them once they reach that point - if that's what you want to do.
    Last edited by mollipen; 16 Dec 2005 at 02:26 PM.
    WARNING: This post may contain violent and disturbing images.

2. No, be my guest. I'll set you up. When it comes to TNL, I pretty much just pay the bills at this point, so I'm no vBulletin expert. I love this place and I want what's best, and you are definitely one of the brightest people I could ask to look into this.

3. There is also the valid option of monitoring the persons first post. CGTalk makes it mandatory for a moderator to approve someone's first post to ensure no spam or "hi I'm new" threads make it through (www.cgtalk.com btw). It means mods and admins will have to handle the situation regularly so people don't end up shying away from the site because they think they can't get in. Putting an approval or invite on is not a viable option because it closes the site off way, waaay too much to the general public (this is a public site after all).

The only problem that I can see with this solution is it becomming a very large nuisance and chore to the mods and admins.
    Last edited by Drewbacca; 16 Dec 2005 at 02:59 PM.
    Quote Originally Posted by rezo
    Once, a gang of fat girls threatened to beat me up for not cottoning to their advances. As they explained it to me: "guys can usually beat up girls, but we are all fat, and there are a lot of us."

4. Here is the problem I've hit.