Page 1 of 6 1235 ... LastLast

Thread: "Basic Grammar" sticky

1. "Basic Grammar" sticky

I have this annoying habit of semi-proofreading everything I read. This causes a faint little bothersome jolt when I run into a mistake. Maybe if we had a "Basic Grammar" sticky, people would make less of the more common mistakes. I'm not an English expert or anything myself. I'm talking about just the really basic stuff. Nobody wants to be wrong, and I think lots people don't realize just how simple some of the rules are, and that they, too, can learn them and never screw them up again.

E.G.

"Its" VS "It's."

This is so simple. Here's the rule: When you're contracting "it is," use "it's." IN ALL OTHER CASES USE "its." That's it. You're done. You'll never use the wrong one again.

"Your" VS "You're."

Same thing. You only ever use "you're" when you're contracting "you are." If you try subbing in "you are" and it doesn't make sense, then use "your."

Also, install the Google Toolbar in your browser. It takes all of twenty seconds. It comes with a spell checker that you can click once just before submit, and it'll go over everything you typed.
    Anyway, you get the idea. If nobody wants to write the whole initial post, people could post their own tips, and then we could compile them all into the first post.
    Last edited by Compass; 23 Jul 2007 at 12:45 AM. Reason: lol, fixed some mistakes some nine months after the fact. I couldn't sleep at night...

2. No one would read it unless it was endorsed by a Mortal Kombat character.

Name it: "TNL's Guide to Writing Good - as told by Reptile."

"I can only say that there is not a man living who wishes more sincerely than I do to see a plan adopted for the abolition of slavery." - Tommy Tallarico