Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Taking test on C++

Taking test on C++

does anyone have any tips on learning C++ code for test preparation?

I think I just bombed my second C++ test. Despite having a 100 in all other work, I'm just horrible at taking test on the stuff. Don't know what it is, just can't seem to remember all the syntax on the fly.

so yeah, anyone know how to close this gap between being able to do the work, and take a test on it?

2. i had the same problem. when i was a comp sci major i did awesome on the projects, i was a great coder, but when it came to the pen-and-paper tests i had a lot of trouble.

what kind of stuff did the test you just took cover?
    "I am government man, come from the government. The government has sent me."

eh, simple shit. Mostly kinds of loops, arrays, and pointers.

=/ I'd much rather have three times the work and no test. The class and lab work isn't enough for me to memorise the details. I do all the HW, extra cred, and lab work, but come test time, my mind goes blank.

4. Programming on paper as part of an exam should be banned from colleges.

5. Actually, the tests I used to take in college regarding programming itself were not so concerned with the syntax, as long as you showed in general you knew how the syntax worked. They were more interested in you being able to come up with the algorithms and solutions to the problems. If your professor is a stickler for syntax, then he does not really know on what to focus as Comp. Sci./Eng. educator. I have been working as an engineer now for almost 7 years and I still look up syntax for all of the languages I program in. That’s why books and Google exist.

In any case, good luck.
    Last edited by Nei; 05 Nov 2006 at 09:39 AM.

6. Same here. The profs didn't care if it was psuedo-code or what. It's all about solving the problem.

7. Quote Originally Posted by buttcheeks View Post