Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Looking for a Place in Williamsburg

1. Looking for a Place in Williamsburg

So, me and a friend of mine just started looking for places in Williamsburg, and wanted to know if you guys had any general pointers on what to get. We thought a loft would be ideal, because it allows us to be somewhat noisy during non commercial hours perhaps? I am quite new to the getting a place not college scene, so I am not really sure on the etiquette.

A few questions I suppose, first, is all of williamsburg safe? That's pretty much my biggest issue right now, I don't want to get stabbed. I don't live in Baltimore right now because I don't want to get stabbed. So same goes for new york.

Second, how many streets away from major metro stations is still convenient? I know that seems obvious and differs from person to person, but I have never lived IN a city sans car, so what might seem reasonable to me in the beginning could be a big hassle later on when I get more used to it.

Third, Ramon said anywhere near the first three metro stops is pretty good, so that has been a good starting places for our searches. How far from the metro do you guys think is a good area to live? Kinda the same as the previous question but this one is more asking about how far out can I go and still get a cool environment of people. A big part of the reason I want to live in the city to begin with is to be around musicians and like minded people.

Finally, as we are both musicians, are there any streets where it is known that musicians tend to gather and such, or all over the place and just play in localized areas? We will be hoping to grab a bass player and maybe a guitarist to take lead from me when we get up there as our current players (rotating players) would not be making the move with us.

Thanks for any help you guys throw our way, I know you alot of you guys have the same basic mindsets as us so hopefully you can drop a bit of sage advice for us.