Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Small Claims Legal Advice Help

1. Small Claims Legal Advice Help

I started interning for latino magazine in May 2006-July 2006 for class credit. Once I graduated in September 2006, I started working there full time until the end of November 2007. As of December 2007 I started my new full time job and started to freelance for the magazine. I had invoices/contract set up for any work that I did for him. I also gave a time line (i.e. 1 week after job is done) when the invoice should be paid but majority of the time, it was never on time. After updating the website , the publisher/CEO, felt my price was too high ($1200) hence he was unable to pay on time, so we worked something out to a lower cost ($800). These prices included everything when a new issue was to be posted. Even lowering the cost down to $800 or so, invoices was never paid on time and were accumulating. So out of courtesy, we worked out again to update the site down to $400 to upload magazine issue and $30 for each update of banner images/advertisements/web page. Magazines were updated about twice a year but majority of invoices was the $30 for each banner/ad that needed to be placed.

Instead of paying a lump sum of $1200, $800 or $400 for the website update...he would pay in installments. $100 here, $200 there. It would take 1-2 months to pay it all off. The publisher kept giving a promise that he would send a check every Friday. A week would pass and no check, so I would email middle to end of following week to ask where the check is (he's in Brooklyn and it takes 1 business day for a letter to arrive). Either it hasnt been sent or sent the following week. When he does finally send a check (after threatening to stop updating), its only 1 check and not 2-3 checks to make up for the weeks he missed.