Go to Cafe Tropico Cafe Tropico
Go to the Blue Parrot Inn
Search:     Advanced search
06/20/13 at 02:23 AM
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
207424 Posts in 10531 Topics by 2074 Members
Latest Member: cpmoneymakertutorials
   Home   Help Search Calendar Login Register  
Cafe Tropico  |  Tropico 2: Pirate Cove  |  Pirate Cove Scenarios/AAR's (Moderator: CafeDave)  |  Topic: Bonus scenario
Pages: [1]   Go Down
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Author Topic: Bonus scenario  (Read 1471 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
garyamort
Tourist
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« on: 01/18/05 at 07:58 AM »

Anyone know how I can get a copy of the bonus scenarios, I tried registering but had no luck.
Report to moderator   Logged
Rich „Weeds„ Nagel
Como? Eh? Aieee!
Global Moderator
Emperor
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1135


Puttin' the hammer down...


WWW
« Reply #1 on: 01/18/05 at 01:04 PM »

I had the same problem myself after first purchasing T2 (just a few weeks ago).

Apparently, the Tropico 2 web site (namely the registration section) had been hacked and was infected with a few nasty trojan viruses. Some you may have noticed that the site had been offline for the past 2 weeks or so, this was due to your's truly informing Take 2 that their website had been hacked and was attempting to infect anyone connecting to it to preform the registration... Take 2 wasn't even aware of the problem when I initially spoke to them on the phone, and had the webmasters have a look at it STAT, which in turn, they turned the site off until they could clean out the viruses.

Anyhow, long story short, after they got the site online again, Take 2 emailed me with a direct link to the bonus scenario -> http://www.tropico2.com/register/download/Spain_Inquis.zip
Report to moderator   Logged

garyamort
Tourist
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 4


« Reply #2 on: 01/18/05 at 02:07 PM »

I had the same problem myself after first purchasing T2 (just a few weeks ago).

Apparently, the Tropico 2 web site (namely the registration section) had been hacked and was infected with a few nasty trojan viruses. Some you may have noticed that the site had been offline for the past 2 weeks or so, this was due to your's truly informing Take 2 that their website had been hacked and was attempting to infect anyone connecting to it to preform the registration...

That explains the "WTF" text on the page.  Thanks for the info, I use Opera and have a personal firewall, so whatever infection routine was probaby blocked but I better scan just in case.

Seems like the entire site is down at the moment, hopefully they will bring it back soon and I can grab the scenario.
Report to moderator   Logged
Rich „Weeds„ Nagel
Como? Eh? Aieee!
Global Moderator
Emperor
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1135


Puttin' the hammer down...


WWW
« Reply #3 on: 01/18/05 at 02:24 PM »

@CK, Hehe, yes, Take 2 was quite prompt in their actions when i informed them that their web site was infected. I also reminded them that not only was this bad for business, but would have been a grave disaster if that would have happened back when T2 was initially released.

At first I had problems convincing the tech support guy, but after stressing to him the simple fact that I'm a PC tech of 10 years (many of my customers require virus removal, so I always stay up-to-date of the latest on the subject), I actually knew what I was talking about <BG>.


@Garyamort, actually the "WTF" was a reminant of when the T2 webmasters cleaned up their web site <G>. Many webmasters (as well as programmers) will insert non-sensical reminders in their code to be corrected at a latter date.

BTW, as far as I could discern, the trojans that the site was infected with would only affect MSIE v5.0, or possibly v6.0 (when run under XP Home without SP2 installed).


Anyhow, the site does indeed seem to be offline again, I suppose that they are simply updating it again with some more fixes/cleanings. Try to download the file again at a later time (using the direct link I provided in my previous post), totally bypassing their registration screen. Hehe, even though they've disinfected their web site, I dunno if I would trust their registration page anytime in the near future <G>.
« Last Edit: 01/18/05 at 02:28 PM by Rich Nagel » Report to moderator   Logged

Rich „Weeds„ Nagel
Como? Eh? Aieee!
Global Moderator
Emperor
*****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 1135


Puttin' the hammer down...


WWW
« Reply #4 on: 01/18/05 at 02:30 PM »

Just to help out, attached is original ZIP containing the scenario -:)

* Spain_Inquis.zip (150.41 KB - downloaded 169 times.)
Report to moderator   Logged

Clever duck
General
****
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 272


WWW
« Reply #5 on: 03/21/05 at 07:23 PM »

Just to help out, attached is original ZIP containing the scenario -:)

  Thanxalot I was unable to download it from anywhere else (some websites wanted pop-up blockers, firewall, etc. to be disabled and it still wouldn't download Grin).
Report to moderator   Logged

...unless I am wrong.

My current T2 webpages are at:

http://home.btconnect.com/worldsonscreens/Downloads/T2maps/T2mapsidx.html
DraZtik
Tourist
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1


« Reply #6 on: 03/23/05 at 05:42 PM »

thanks!  Smiley
Report to moderator   Logged
Bly
Tourist
*
Offline Offline

Gender: Male
Posts: 40


Where's my parrot gone to?


« Reply #7 on: 06/14/05 at 01:38 AM »

The site is up but does not work to download the bonus scenario. It takes your personal information, then you click register and nothing happens.

It is a honey pot now. Steals your personal data. I e-mailed them, but have not heard back yet.

So I guess I am on the SPAMMER list now.

Thanks Nagel for the link, I have it now.
Report to moderator   Logged

Signature? How about me mark....
Pages: [1]   Go Up
  Send this topic  |  Print  
Cafe Tropico  |  Tropico 2: Pirate Cove  |  Pirate Cove Scenarios/AAR's (Moderator: CafeDave)  |  Topic: Bonus scenario
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.13 | SMF © 2006-2011, Simple Machines LLC Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!