Thread: Let's talk mixed drinks

1. Let's talk mixed drinks

I've been having some fun mixing drinks lately. I'm not good at, I don't own most of the stuff you would need, and I don't even know where to start.

Lately, with what I do have around the house in quarantine, I've been doing three main things:

1) Hornitos Tequila with Kirkland Margarita mix. Its the best Tequila I've found to make margaritas with and the weather has been warm lately.

2) Mount Gay Rum (best name ever and it's good rum), Sprite and Orange juice. Tastes insane, super smooth.

3) Haku Vodka, also Sprite (because I don't have soda water and Sprite is basically the closest I have to soda water and syrup) and cherry syrup.

If I was gonna get ahold of versatile mixing ingredients what would you guys recommend? Any easy tasty drinks you do on the regular?

Follow up, I have liked Gin with citrus (maybe soda water and lemon, or just straight with Squirt) and I think that's a fun enough angle for it, very bright and refreshing. But what the fuck do normal people do with Gin?
    Last edited by Opaque; 06 May 2020 at 09:32 PM.

2. I’m judging you for drinking Sprite in general.

I had an ok bar cart a couple years ago, but keeping it stocked with a lot of variety was kind of a pain. I would tend to default to something with fresh citrus, like a whiskey sour (2oz whiskey, 1oz lemon or lime, 1/2-1oz simple syrup, an egg white), or a Negroni variant (1oz each of bourbon or gin, Campari or other aperitif, sweet vermouth). Simple syrup is dead easy to prepare and keep on hand, so I just always have a bottle around. Also don’t drink much soda outside of sparkling water.